ACC Block:

1935

Explore other years
by clicking below.

Detail from Sanborn Insurance Map of Austin, Texas, 1935, Sheet 30.
For the key to the map, click here.
To access the map through the Austin Public Library, click here.







In 1916, John T. Allan Junior High School was built here.

Nine years later, in 1925, the junior high swapped places with the high school, which was then located at East 9th & Trinity Streets, and this building became Austin High School.

The early years here were a defining time for Austin High: the Red Jackets were formed in 1926, the Student Council wrote a new constitution in 1927, and the Maroon Newspaper began in 1928.


Source: Jeffrey Kerr, Austin, Texas Then and Now, 2004, pg.172; "Allan Jr. High/Austin High School," Survey Form for Historic Landmark Inventory, Austin History Center, Austin Public Library.